Wishes. Now granted at the low price of your humanity (Puella Magi Madoka Magica anime review)

 

Well, this blog post has been planned for a while but i’ve never gotten around to writing it because I felt I might be biased TOWARDS it as it was the first anime that I finished watching AND that I really enjoyed it, so much so my mind was pretty much full of Puella Magi in the day after I completed it. But i’ve finally got a new anime to occupy my time ( Clannad) so I felt this will be an apt time to write this. This post might still sound biased but certainly not as much as it did when I wrote the first draft which pretty much advertised it instead of reviewed it.

Ok, the long introduction is out of the way to let the review begin.

 

Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica ( Puella Magi Madoka Magica) is about girls given the chance to have one wish granted by the agreement upon a contract to become a Puella Magi, a magical girl given the abilities and powers to fight witches, beings of chaos responsible for murders, deaths and suicide (similarities to Warhammer 40k: Chaos faction here XD). This anime follows the story of Kaname Madoka, a high school student who was approached by a familiar named Kyubuey, which offers her the ability to have one wish granted, and in return, to become a Puella Magi under a contract. The anime’s main plot revolve around the various occurrences and events that affect Madoka’s decision of whether or not to become a Puella Magi.

But, who hasn’t watched Madoka? It was any extremely popular show if not the most during the 2010 Winter anime season and reviews, first impressions and adverts for it were popping up everywhere. Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica was the first anime I picked up on other people’s recommendations and not on a whim because there were a massive bunch of people practically screaming at others to watch the show. So I decided “why the hell not? If so many people are recommending it, it has to be some good eh?”

Although the fans of Mahou Shojo Madoka Magica did first put me off from watching the show ( the church of Madoka comes to mind…), I nonetheless watched the whole anime. And I have to say, those random people fangirl-ing/fanboy-ing about this show were right. It’s was really good and incredibly enjoyable. But I could have enjoyed this show a lot as it was the first I completed watching.

Mami is still my favourite character X3

Firstly, the first thing I look at in an anime (besides the title, duh) is the storyline. I decided to ruin my viewing of it a bit and read some spoilers so at least get some idea what it was about. After watching the whole anime, I think Mahou Shojo Madoka Magica had one of the most thought-provoking and well-thought out storylines i’ve ever seen. Even some of my Sci-Fi books could not hold up to it. I have to say the twists in the story were mostly unexpected and entirely absorbing. ( For those who have watched it, I found the explanation on entropy very interesting. I actually researched entropy after watching )

Secondly, I found the character designs for Mahou Shojo Madoka Magica to be excellent. I really liked the way each character was introduced into the anime and how they were built up in the progress of the anime. Each character’s emotions and inner conflicts were portrayed well and aptly. I like an anime where you eventually come to care about the personas like they were real people and you wish the story concludes well for them (even if you sometimes know it doesn’t) and Mahou Shojo Madoka Magica is a rather good example for this.

Don't you just wanna console Madoka? it's kind of heartbreaking

The artwork of Mahou Shojo Madoka Magica was also tastefully done and I found it to be perfect for telling such a story. The graphics and animation were done smoothly and my mind has an epic moment of tripping balls whenever they enter into the realm of the witches (wow, another similarity Warhammer 40: Chaos faction)

Now that's trippy. There are even more visual mindrape-ish scenes in the episodes

Overall, I really enjoyed Mahou Shojo Madoka Magica. I actually felt depressed the day after I finished it as I knew it was over and the ending was that good. It still brings a welcome memory to mind thinking of it.

And of course, I can’t publish a post without some Yuri eh? The Yuri subtext in this anime was extremely enjoyable XD

This pairing is really X3

The most obvious pairing XD

This pairing is sweet too~

And finally, this is something only those who have watched the anime would get.

 

About Manfred Tham

Manfred can typically be found hiding from people behind his computer screen or a tall pint. However you can easily contact him in any given video game where he will either insult you or be really nice to you. In addition his nerdiness transcends the digital plane when he partakes in the arcane rituals of rolling dice in both table-top and board games. Disregarding the countless hours he has logged into games, Manfred loves nothing more than cooking food to satisfy his craving for Northern European cuisine or to sip away from the many bottles of whiskies he fondly defaults to. Manfred is also what is commonly known as a “metalhead” with a penchant for both symphonic and power metal. Manfred summarises his life philosophy with a quote by Samuel L.Jackson, but it has been redacted for being far too vulgar.

Posted on July 14, 2011, in Anime, Otaku-ism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow great review. and yeah you can’t miss the Yuri. Try checking ep12 BD version

    • I have and always would be too lazy to download Blu-Ray versions of anything….
      They take up too much disk space and take forever to download DX
      But yeah, the quality is epic

      P.S there’s no actual Yuri XD us fans just made it seem that way

Leave a Reply

