Otaku Time management

A nice view gets attention ^.^

One of the foremost problems of becoming an “avid” Otaku would the immense problem with time management. When I first started out on the Otaku path, I never watched airing anime and I would spend maybe 2 weeks watching a 12 episode anime. It didn’t strain my time as I did have quite a bit of spare time afforded by my studying habits (which is to say I hardly studied).

Too..much...hnnngh

However, as I got more into the Japanese animation culture, the whole “Otaku-ness”, I realised that more and more of my time was being used to fuel the hobby, undoubtably a problem many Otakus will face, especially if one is still studying. I would watch 24 ep anime in marathons (only when I had the time too of course) and I bean watching a huge number of airing anime (a huge number from my POV of course). Hence, that began the battle too juggle my time. For those that don’t know me personally (which y’all won’t since I try to stay mostly anonymous), I juggle between my studies at a rather prestigious school (which means I have a standard to keep up…), Gaming, Warhammer 40k painting and tabletop, Anime and manga along with blogging and whatever other things I do in my spare time (Exercise, reading books etc). And as a student, more and more of my time is forced to be spent on the studying aspect. I spend 7 and a half hours in school in average and in addition to all the other things I have to do every day, I usually only have 3 hours to myself if I choose not to study anything and just complete my homework. Yes, that would normally be considered a luxury but it’s not that much of one since “me time” is usually interruptered by others.

Inception!!

There’s no way we as Otaku would be satisfied with “I’ll watch 2 eps tonight”. There’s always the whole idea of “I love this show, I wanna watch more of it. Right now”. It’s that concept of not getting our daily “fix”. We always feel like we have not watched enough anime or read enough manga. So most of us would tend to pick up large amounts of anime and manga to read/watch at one time, which compounds our problem as we want to watch as many episodes of each anime as possible. It’s the same for manga as we want to read as many chapters as humanely possible. I have stayed up till 4am (I wake up at 5am btw) to read as many chapters as possible of a number of manga (I read a total 15 complete volumes that night). To put it simply, it’s an addiction. You just want to watch more anime and read more manga. It’s an insatiable thirst and it can only be sated for short periods with frequent bouts of anime binge watching. So in an over elaborate post, I think I’ve properly described the problem most Otakus face. As most of us tend to be young-ish, it means we’re still studying and will have encounter this problem at some point in time. So to all that suffer the same problem as me, We’ll pull through comrade!!! P.S – Just as a disclaimer, I know that some amongst us have superior time management skills but no dobut, you would have experienced something similar once where your need to watch anime overrides all other responsibility

About Manfred Tham

Manfred can typically be found hiding from people behind his computer screen or a tall pint. However you can easily contact him in any given video game where he will either insult you or be really nice to you. In addition his nerdiness transcends the digital plane when he partakes in the arcane rituals of rolling dice in both table-top and board games. Disregarding the countless hours he has logged into games, Manfred loves nothing more than cooking food to satisfy his craving for Northern European cuisine or to sip away from the many bottles of whiskies he fondly defaults to. Manfred is also what is commonly known as a “metalhead” with a penchant for both symphonic and power metal. Manfred summarises his life philosophy with a quote by Samuel L.Jackson, but it has been redacted for being far too vulgar.

Posted on February 2, 2012, in Anime, Manga, Otaku-ism, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You’re completely right. I started watching anime and reading manga after my bf made me watch bleach with him. At the time I didn’t understand what was so good about it because I hadn’t watched it from the 1st episode so he told me to watch it from the beginning and soon enough I was addicted to it. I sat up all night watching full animes one after the other even though I was still at school at the time. He introduced me to the bleach manga too. He doesn’t know who I ended up so addicted to anime and manga. I have over 100 volumes of manga and quite a few anime box sets and spend most of my time watching anime/reading manga online when I’m not at work. It just doesn’t feel right only watching a couple a day. For studying I found doing 1 hour study then 1 hour anime quite good because I got to study what I needed and knew I would still get to watch a lot of anime every other hour.

Leave a Reply

