Haiyore – I’ve got my mindless entertainment

Thanks to desperate persuasion by SleepyNoYume and LessThanFree, compounded by extreme boredom on Saturday night, I began watching Haiyore Nyaruko-san. Personally, I was already prejudiced against this anime. The blurb doesn’t exactly put it in a good light. As a side note, the basis for both (Sleepy and Free) argument why I should watch this was “You’ll love it! There’s a DFC redheaded twintails girl that’s into Yuri!” It’s not word for word but that’s the general idea. To be honest, that was only enough to pique my interest but not enough to convince me to watch it.

But alas, the power of boredom on a weekend night. I torrented the first 3 eps and watched them over a nice big bowl of Japanese curry (Which was bloody excellent. My mum’s a great cook ;D).

To sum up my initial impressions, how about a meme?

And that does match my face rather well. My face was stuck in a permanent grin with one eyebrow cocked as I watched through episode 1. The general plot of the story is blatantly stupid and the characters are all rather shallow and niche. An airhead, the ecchi fanservice girl ( I have to agree I love her design and voice acting though) and the norm-tard. Perfect. And a loli will be added! (There’s a surprise with that though)

However, I do appreciate it’s value in other aspects. Well, I know I over-use this example but it’s similar to Guilty Crown. A very predictable, default plot (On in Haiyore’s case, an almost non-existent plot) and rather bland characters, but incredibly entertaining nonetheless. Whilst Haiyore’s graphics aren’t as visually appealing as Guilty Crown’s, it’s still pretty damn good.

awwww

While I find the “humour” in Haiyore rather cheap (slapstick usually is), it easy to understand and great for a quick laugh. Especially when they do it well. The references on Haiyore also had me laughing my arse off.

Overall, this anime has no damn plot but enough entertainment value for me to justify continuing to watch it. Especially for Kuko. (Don’t blame me!)

About Manfred Tham

Manfred can typically be found hiding from people behind his computer screen or a tall pint. However you can easily contact him in any given video game where he will either insult you or be really nice to you. In addition his nerdiness transcends the digital plane when he partakes in the arcane rituals of rolling dice in both table-top and board games. Disregarding the countless hours he has logged into games, Manfred loves nothing more than cooking food to satisfy his craving for Northern European cuisine or to sip away from the many bottles of whiskies he fondly defaults to. Manfred is also what is commonly known as a “metalhead” with a penchant for both symphonic and power metal. Manfred summarises his life philosophy with a quote by Samuel L.Jackson, but it has been redacted for being far too vulgar.

Posted on May 6, 2012, in Anime and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

