Spring Season Wrap-up

As most of you know, the animes of the spring season are ending within the week. Some of the shows the seemed good at the start turned out to be a disappointment and others were diamonds in the rough. I didn’t watch all the anime this season so I apologize if I left out any that you would have liked me to talk about.

I usually don’t do this kind of thing, but I felt like I needed to make up for the hole that SleepyYume left when he well… Left. So here’s my (first) wrap-up post:

Accel World:

Concept seemed promising but my interest wasn’t sustained. The characters feel very superficial and the plot seemed very straightforward – lacking depth.  I didn’t finish this one (stopped at episode 5), nor am I planning to.

Verdict: 6/10

Acchi Kocchi:

Comic strip-style gags revolving around a band of mostly generic characters. On the whole, mildly entertaining, humor is centered on the character’s traits. I thought some gags from Acchi Kocchi weren’t bad, but I didn’t feel like it stood out much other than Tsumiki’s similarity to Azusa from K-On!.

Verdict: 6.5/10

Avatar: The legend of Korra:

Don’t be sad. Tarlock did what he had to…

I can’t tell you how long I’d waited for this to come out. The Last Airbender is one of my absolute favorite anime, so I was really anticipating LoK.

The headstrong, aggressive Korra is very different from the calm, diplomatic Aang which I felt provided us with a fresh perspective. The themes of LoK are very different from the Last Airbender, most of them are more mature, i.e. Politics, Discrimination, but are presented just as well by the team.

I loved the new villans; Tarlock and Amon/Noatok. Although their backstory felt sort of rushed, their depth of character was surprising. I never really hated Amon because he reminded me of V from V for Vendetta, but by the end I felt so bad for him. Needless to say I was forlorn when Tarlock killed them both.

The thing that I felt was lacking was the depth in the characters of Mako and Bolin. It’s hard to live up to the depth of characters like Zuko and Iroh in the Last Airbender, but I felt that the two of them were slightly too shallow for main characters. Also, I was really annoyed by the potato-headed airbending toddler (can’t be bothered to remember his name).

The show was pretty great, but it’s overshadowed by the Last Airbender so I still felt it lacked something. Although, LoK has not even been fully fleshed out since it’s only run for 12 episodes out of the hopeful 24. Yes, I’m suggesting there is a second season.

Verdict: 7.5/10

Haiyore! Nyaruko-San:

Let’s Nya!

This was the diamond in the rough for me. I started watching this expecting a slapstick comedy, what I got was a slapstick comedy with over 9000 references. But as I watched, I realised the fantastic balance in the comedy, the jokes are milked to the max without them becoming old and the main characters that were gradually introduced provide different elements to the comedy. Although the characters’ personalities aren’t that deep, they have fantastic chemistry, which makes the show so fun to watch.

I wouldn’t say that Haiyore is outright hilarious and the action is quite poor, but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t amused by every minute of it. I don’t always like shows without a plot, but I love Haiyore. It has a great style, appealing characters and so many references that you’re bound to catch one.

The last episode was quite unsatisfying and makes me want there to be a season 2 for this show even more. There probably is going to be one because of the lack of serious plot, making the show easy to continue.

Verdict: 8.5/10

Nazo no Kanojo X:

Animation, presentation and opening felt kind of retro; reminded me of old anime like Neon Genesis and Cowboy Bebop, which I thought was great. Interesting concept of empathy/emotion sharing once you get over the initial repulsion of licking saliva.

Characterization of Urabe is the strong point of the show. Tsubaki’s character is rather plain, but it could be argued that this makes it easier for the viewer to relate to him. The story is somewhat shallow but quite interesting. Its overall style helps it stand out, but the themes becomes slightly repetitive after a while. Nonetheless it sustained my interest and compelled me to read the entire manga.

Verdict: 7/10

Sankarea:

Leaves never looked so tasty

This was another gem. Reading the blurb, Sankarea seemed like it was going to be a weird show. I mean, Zombies and Romance? They don’t go together right?

Well I was wrong. Though, Rea is not exactly a traditional zombie. I think it helps a lot that the whole cast is very likable, except maybe Chihiro’s grandfather and the Rea family. It’s nice to see that  there are no Tsunderes in the love triangle which I feel is a welcome break. The best thing about Sankarea is that it has soul. It just feels inexplicably complete and wholesome. My only problem is that Rea’s screen time was rather scant so her character seems very shallow.

Good-hearted show with a good presentation style. Although, when you think about it, its a show with a love triangle about incest vs necrophilia.

Verdict: 7.5/10

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia:

For me, this was a good find, but not a treasure. I thought nothing of it when the season started, but Cyborg suggested I watch it, so I did. I felt that this anime was interesting but I never felt really attached to it.

Maybe it’s because my favorite character, Kirie, wasn’t featured very much. Yuuko’s character seemed quite shallow and Teichii’s wasn’t exactly miles deep. The running gag about Yuuko being unseen to Okonogi and the disjointed segments criticizing human fear of the unknown are well done but get tiring eventually. One thing that stood out was the surprisingly strong art style and direction. I really think that Tasogare is a good show, but it’s not great in my books.

Verdict: 7/10

Crossover!

That’s my thoughts on the animes I’ve watched this season. Thanks for reading!

If you wanna shout at me or you like what I liked, leave a comment below!

About LessThanFree

Average, lazy guy who loves to game and appreciates anime and movies. Studies on the side.

Posted on June 26, 2012, in Anime, Otaku-ism. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. hmmm… looks like you still need my presence… I’ll see if i have time to come up with a post one of these days… im gonna delay my other project for a while.

Leave a Reply

