The remedy to what ails you (Tamayura Hitotose review)

Watch out, this show is on super high hnnnnnnnnnngggghhh alert.

Probably one of my most anticipated shows of the previous anime seasons (then again, I was looking forward to a lot of shows. Fate Zero and Last Exile Fam of Silver Wing to name a few), Tamayura Hitotose encompasses the story of Fu Sawatari as she moves back to her home town the unfortunate passing of her father. There, she meets with her old childhood friends and slowly comes back to terms with herself and her love for photography which she got from her father.

To summarize it, it’s a touching story of friendship, overcoming odds and grievances as well as enjoying life to the fullest. In other words, the perfect cure to a depressing day. I could never remain depressed after an episode. Personally, I think it’s humanely impossible to still be pissed after an ep. Unless of course, you weren’t paying attention to it.

Overall, Tamayura Hitotose had a very low production cost, I think many weren’t looking forward to it. Truth to be told, I did find the graphics a bit less spectacular than many shows that aired that season. However, the art was perfectly suited to portraying Tamayura Hitotose. The softness of it and the slightly blurred colours gave it a dreamy air at times and makes one contemplate on life. The animation was pretty smooth though which was contary to the low production cost.

Too much hnnngh

Oh man, Yuri Goggles going insane

However, the plot for Tamayura Hitotose and particularly the character interactions was where the show shined. It really made me stop and think deeply about life whenever I watched the show. Every ep made me enter a melancholic and philosophical mode where I would slowly contemplate life.

Still, the main bit of Tamayura Hitotose I loved was its little bit saying “enjoy life”. Of course, it’s up to each person to perceive and appreciate different aspects of any anime. But to me, Tamayura spoke of enjoying life, despite the problems life saddles you with. It was similar to Usagi Drop in this sense. The innocence in all of humanity to try and enjoy life.

There was also the parts with learning how to let go of the past and the grievances it had. And of course, the value of friendship. I’m still annoyed that they didn’t give Tamayura the Shouko Ai genre because my Yuri goggles were going mad whilst watching.

In all, Tamayura Hitotose was another rather unexpectedly good show from the Winter season along with Chihayafuru. But we’re rather low cost from what I’ve heard but they did rather well despite that.

And now, Pic Dump. Because I took too many screenshots and it’ll be a waste not to use them ^.^

My favourite character ^.^

Considering the low production cost, I'd say they still did a damn good job

Well, that’s all for now. I hope y’all enjoyed and I hope you decide to watch Tamayura ~Hitotose~

A bit NSFW but real cute

 

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Anime, Otaku-ism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i have to spoil the mood but…. TAMAYURA DO NOT EXIST… if you see those dots…. your lens have mould… -.-

  2. Attractive component of content. I just stumbled upon your
    web site and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact loved account your weblog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I
    success you get admission to consistently quickly.

Leave a comment